top of page



National Quality Standard

The National Quality Standard (NQS) sets a high national benchmark for early childhood education and care and outside school hours care services in Australia.

The NQS includes 7 quality areas that are important outcomes for children.

Services are assessed and rated by their regulatory authority against the NQS, and given a rating for each of the 7 quality areas and an overall rating based on these results.

  1. Educational programme and practice

  2. Children’s health and safety

  3. Physical environment

  4. Staffing arrangements

  5. Relationships with children

  6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities

  7. Governance and leadership

For more information National Quality Standard (NQS) go to:

National Quality Framework

The National Quality Framework or NQF is a national legislative framework developed to create a uniform national approach to the regulation and quality of all Early Childhood education services in Australia. All services are Approved to operate and governed by the:

The Department of Education and Community are the Regulatory Authority in NSW and are responsible for administering the National Quality Framework for all early childhood services in NSW.

There is also a national body which oversees the NQF to ensure consistent and effective implementation of the system. This body is the Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority or ACECQA.

For information and newsletters regarding the National Quality Framework go to:

Information and resources on the ACECQA website reflect the 2018 National Quality Standard (NQS).

Find out more about recent changes to the National Quality Framework.

bottom of page